skip navigation

Team U.S.A.picks 8 Minnesotans

11/27/2012, 11:00am CST
By By David La Vaque, Star Tribune

Team competes in late December in Finland in world championships

Eight Minnesota hockey players were selected to the U.S. Women’s Under-18 team for the IIHF World Championship tournament in Finland.

The six forwards are Dani Cameranesi (Blake), Amy Menke (Shakopee), Kelly Pannek (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Maliya Rodgers (Hopkins), Kate Schipper (Breck) and Megan Wolfe (Eagan).

They are joined by Minnetonka defensemen Sydney Baldwin and Sidney Morin.

Blaine girls’ hockey coach Steve Guider is an assistant coach.

The tournament will be held Dec. 29, 2012 through Jan. 5, 2013.

Team USA has won three of the five previous IIHF Under-18 Women’s World championships (2008, 2009, 2011) and earned silver the other two years.


Related Stories

Tag(s): Featured  Star Tribune  Hopkins/St. Louis Park  Minnetonka  Shakopee  Benilde-St. Margaret's  Blaine  Eagan  Blake  Breck