skip navigation

Ms. Hockey semifinalists named

01/30/2014, 4:45pm CST
By Star Tribune

Senior Goalie of the Year semifinalists also named

Let’s Play Hockey newspaper announced the 10 semifinalists for its 2014 Ms. Hockey Award, presented to the state’s top senior player.

Seven forwards were named: Samantha Donovan (Irondale), Kiersten Falck (Blaine), Alexis Joyce (Lakeville North), Nina Rodgers (Hopkins), Nicole Schammel (Red Wing) and teammates Kelly Pannek and Caitlin Reilly (Benilde-St. Margaret’s). They were joined by three defensemen: Lynn Astrup (Warroad), Sydney Baldwin (Minnetonka) and Bella Sutton (Mounds View).

All 10 players are committed to a Division I school for next season. They have averaged 24 goals and 26 assists this season for their respective teams. And they have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.7.

The five finalists for the Ms. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 13 edition of Let’s Play Hockey.

Let’s Play Hockey newspaper also announced its 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Senior Goalie of the Year award: Hannah Ehresmann (Minnetonka), Madi Galstad (East Grand Forks), Angie Hall (White Bear Lake), Michelle Klimstra (Rogers), Alex LaMere (North Wright County), Abbey Miller (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Erin O’Neil (Hopkins), Hannah Paulson (North Metro), Bailey Plaman (Bloomington Jefferson) and Boomer Sonnek (Edina).

The 10 semifinalists combine for a 1.95 goals-against average, a .928 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.59.

The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year award will be named in the Feb. 6 edition of Let’s Play Hockey.

Ms. Hockey and the Senior Goalie of the Year will be named Feb. 23 at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

Tag(s): Hub Exclusives  East Grand Forks  Warroad  Edina  Eden Prairie  Hopkins/St. Louis Park  Minnetonka  Rogers  North Wright County  Red Wing  Benilde-St. Margaret's  Irondale  Blaine  North Metro  Lakeville North  Bloomington Jefferson  White Bear Lake  Mounds View