skip navigation

2017 Minnesota girls' hockey all-state selections announced

By Samuel Wigness, SportsEngine, 03/08/17, 5:30PM CST


Click here to see the Class 2A and Class 1A all-state award winners.

Blake led the state with six all-state selections on the Class 1A team including Grace Vojta, Madeline Wethington, Kyra Willoughby, Lucy Barton, Olivia Bizal and Anna Kruesel. Breck boasted three Class 1A award winners -- Nicole Oppenheimer, Kendall Williamson and Grace Zumwinkle -- and Mound Westonka produced two selections in Elizabeth Schepers and Emma Poulsny.


Blake sophomore defender Grace Vojta is one of six Bears to make this year's Class 1A All-State Team. Photo by Cheryl Myers, SportsEngine

Class 1A All-State

Lizi Norton, Orono, defense

Nicole Oppenheimer, Breck, defense

Brynn Puppe, Northfield, defense

Grace Vojta, Blake, defense

Madeline Wethington, Blake, defense

Kyra Willoughby, Blake, defense

Lucy Burton, Blake, forward

Mariah Gardner, Warroad, forward

Taylor Heise, Red Wing, forward

Mallorie Iozzo, Hibbing, forward

Joie Phelps, St. Paul United, forward

Elizabeth Shepers, Mound Westonka, forward

Catie Skaja, New Prague, forward

Kendall Williamson, Breck, foward

Grace Zumwinkle, Breck, foward

Olivia Bizal, Blake, goalie

Anna Kruesel, Blake, goalie

Emma Polusny, Mound Westonka, goalie


class 1a honorable mentions

Kate Boland, Northfield, defense

Callie Fagerstrom, Thief River Falls, defense

Emily Hart, Red Wing, defense

Mikayla Kero, Proctor/Hermantown, defense

Kaitlyn Kotlowski, Warroad, defense

Ellie Larson, Hutchinson, defense

Gabby Billing, Breck, forward

Jessica Bird, Moose Lake, forward

Izzy Daniel, Blake, forward

Sara McClanahan, Blake, forward

Madison Oelkers, Warroad, forward

Kora Torkelson, Thief River Falls, forward

Madeline Carlson, Orono, goalie

Mckenzie Whalen, East Grand Forks, goalie

Maple Grove led all Class 2A teams with four all-state award winners in Tina Kampa, Taylor Wente, Breanna Blesi and Coco Francis. Edina (Grace Bowlby, Anna Klein, Emily Oden), Blaine (Emily Brown, Paige Beebe, Gabby Rosenthal) and Eden Prairie (Crystalyn Hengler, Naomi Regge, Alexa Dobchuck) followed with three apiece. Centennial and Hill-Murray each had two selections: Gabbie Hughes and Anneke Linser for the Cougars and Taylor Wemple and Abigail Boreen for the Pioneers.

Hill-Murray's Abigail Boreen, a University of Minnesota commit, drives the puck against Roseville on Feb. 14. Her teammate, Taylor Wemple, also made the Class 2A All-State squad. Photo by Jeff Lawler, SportsEngine

Class 2A All-State

Madison Bizal, Elk River, defense

Grace Bowlby, Edina, defense

Emily Brown, Blaine, defense

Crystalyn Hengler, Eden Prairie, defense

Tina Kampa, Maple Grove, defense

Taylor Wemple, Hill-Murray, defense

Paige Beebe, Blaine, forward

Abigail Boreen, Hill-Murray, forward

Natalie Heising, Wayzata, forward

Gabbie Hughes, Centennial, forward

Anna Klein, Edina, forward

Anneke Linser, Centennial, forward

Emily Oden, Edina, forward

Naomi Rogge, Eden Prairie, forward

Gabby Rosenthal, Blaine, forward

Taylor Wente, Maple Grove, forward

Breanna Blesi, Maple Grove, goalie

Alexa Dobchuk, Eden Prairie, goalie

Coco Francis, Maple Grove, goalie


class 2a honorable mentions

Taylor Anderson, Eagan, defense

Margaret Flaherty, Lakeville North, defense

Kate Glover, Hopkins, defense

Ellice Murphy, Roseau, defense

Hannah Schultz, Spring Lake Park/Coon Rapids, defense

Camille von Steinbergs, Minnetonka, defense

Emma Bigham, Minnetonka, forward

Lindsey Featherstone, Hill-Murray, forward

Lolita Fidler, Edina, forward

Kelsey King, Elk River, forward

Paetyn Levis, Rogers, forward

Ellie Moser, Farmington, forward

Ramsey Parent, Blaine, forward

Sadie Peart, Grand Rapids/Greenway, forward

Sydney Shearen, White Bear Lake, forward

Calla Frank, White Bear Lake, goalie

Anna Goldstein, Edina, goalie

The all-state selection process is launched at the beginning of the season when coaches are asked to nominate and watch players they believe are deserving of an all-state award. The coaches vote in January, creating a final ballot that is sent to the 21-member Minnesota Girls' Hockey Coaches Association Executive Board to vote on.

After the executive board's final vote, the committee meets again to discuss each selection and confirm that each player meets the following criteria:

*The player earned a season award

*The player had no Minnesota State High School League violations during the season

*The player's coach is a member of the coaches association

Each award winner is among the top players in the state based on their talent, ability to impact the game, sportsmanship, commitment and statistics. The awards were announced at the Ms. Hockey Banquet sponsored by the MGHCA and Let's Play Hockey following the 2017 state tournament.

Girls' Hockey Hub Headlines

Feed for http://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2