skip navigation

2017 Senior Goalie of the Year semifinalists revealed

By Kassondra Burtis, SportsEngine, 02/02/17, 9:30PM CST


Click to see which 10 players made the list.

The names of the 10 semifinalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year were released Thursday, and the group includes four who rank among the state's best in wins, goals-against average or save percentage this season.

The girls also post a collective 1.77 goals-against average and a .926 save percentage.

On-ice talent, however, was only one of the criteria used to identify the semifinalists. Academics -- their combined grade-point average is 3.66 -- along with community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability factored into their selections.

Five finalists for the award, which goes to Minnesota's top senior goalie, will be named in the Feb. 9 edition of Let’s Play Hockey, and the winner will be announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 26 at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

Past winners include Breck's Jenna Brenneman (2016), Frances Marshall of Thief River Falls (2015) and Hopkins' Erin O’Neil (2014).

To order tickets for the 2017 Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet, call Beth Kurtt at 612-306-1935.

The 10 semifinalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award are listed below in alphabetical order (statistics of games through Feb. 1).

Breanna Blesi

School: Maple Grove

College Committed: Wisconsin 

Blesi and fellow semifinalist Coco Francis have split goaltending duties for the Crimson this season, backing the team to a combined 17-5-2 record. Blesi has recorded four shutouts while posting a 7-2-0 record, 1.33 GAA and .931 save percentage.

Annika Carlander

School: Hopkins/Park

College Committed: Wisconsin 

Carlander has accounted for the majority of Hopkins/Park's goaltending this season, amassing more than 1,100 minutes and 506 saves. She has a 14-8-0 record, 2.36 GAA, .908 save percentage and three shutouts.

Madeline Carlson

School: Orono

Carlson has a 6-11-2 record, including three shutouts, and a 2.44 GAA. She has recorded 40 or more saves in five games this season, including 52 in a 1-0 win in early January, and posts a save percentage of .929.

Sydney Culshaw

School: New Prague

Culshaw has been responsible for all goaltending duties for New Prague this season, racking up almost 1,200 minutes. Her 10-10-3 record includes two shutouts, and she has a 2.13 GAA and .925 save percentage.

Sarah Finley

School: Alexandria

Finley has recorded three shutouts for Alexandria while posting a 10-8-1 record. She also owns a 1.90 GAA and a .913 save percentage.

Coco Francis

School: Maple Grove

College Committed: Union

Francis has an 11-2-0 record with four shutouts while splitting time with fellow semifinalist Breanna Blesi this season. Francis' 0.98 goals-against average is third-best in the state while her .945 save percentage is seventh-best.

Anna Goldstein

School: Edina

College Committed: Middlebury

Goldstein has been responsible for a majority of Edina's goaltending this season, compiling a 15-1-1 record that includes four shutouts. She also has a save percentage of .915, and her 1.29 GAA is the eighth-best in the state.

Elizabeth Kubicek

School: Minnetonka

Kubicek has put up impressive numbers this season. She ranks eighth in the state with a .944 save percentage and 10th with a 1.36 goals-against average, which have helped her record three shutouts and post a record of 10-5-2.

Emma Polusny

School: Mound Westonka

College Committed: St. Cloud State

Polusny has played nearly all of Mound Westonka's minutes while recording a 17-6-0 record -- including four shutouts. She is tied for third in the state in wins and has a 1.95 GAA. She has also made more than 40 saves in four games this season, helping her to a .938 save percentage.

Gabby Suhr

School: Dodge County

College Committed: Northland

Suhr has a 10-10-1 record with three shutouts this season and boasts a save percentage of .915 and a 1.94 GAA.

Senior Goalie of the Year winner announced in:


The MN Girls' Hockey Hub poll is based on opinion and not used to determine who is named Senior Goalie of the Year. The winner is selected by a panel of high school coaches and based on their consultations with several area college coaches.

Most Popular

  • All-state teams unveiled

  • By Ryan Williamson, SportsEngine 02/28/2018, 12:00am CST
  • See which of the state's top players received honors from the Minnesota Girls Hockey Coaches Association.
  • Read More