skip navigation

Minnesota girls' hockey schedules posted

By Trevor Squire, SportsEngine, 09/19/17, 12:30PM CDT


Twelve games are slated for opening day on Nov. 9, and none have the same draw as Edina and St. Paul United.

Click image to view the full schedule.

The Minnesota girls’ hockey season opens Thursday, Nov. 9, with 12 games on the schedule. None hold quite as much draw as defending Class 2A champion Edina’s meeting with Class 1A runner-up, St. Paul United, at Drake Arena in St. Paul.

A day later, a vintage rivalry ensues between Blake, which jumped to Class 2A after claiming its record sixth Class 1A state title last winter, and Class 2A prep power Hill-Murray. The season kicks into full-gear the following week as the Pioneers face Eden Prairie on Nov. 14, a marquee matchup among 33 other contests that day.

Blaine, which placed second in Class 2A, hosts Northwest Suburban Conference and Section 5 rival Maple Grove on Dec. 9 in a rematch of the section champion where the Bengals beat the Crimson 3-0 to advance to the state tournament. Roseau also has a rematch of the Class 2A, Section 8 finals against Brainerd/Little Falls on Dec. 15.

Last winter’s South Suburban Conference champion, Lakeville South, was a favorite to advance to the state tournament out of Class 2A, Section 1, but the Cougars were upset by Farmington, losing 4-1 in the section final. Those two teams meet in their second league meeting on Jan. 25 in a game that’ll be crucial for section seeding.

Defending Suburban East champion, Forest Lake, faces last year’s runner-up, Cretin-Derham Hall on Feb. 3 in the final Saturday of the regular season.

Click here to view the full schedule, or type the name of your favorite squad into “Team Finder” in the top right corner of the page for a specific schedule.

If your team’s schedule isn’t posted or needs updating, send the necessary information to scores@sportsengine.com.

Girls' Hockey Hub Headlines

  • Lakeville South shuts out Eastview

  • By Ethan Olson, SportsEngine 02/02/2023, 3:15pm CST
  • Junior Claire Bronson recorded her seventh shutout of the season while sophomore Josie Grossman tallied two assists.
  • Read More

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2

Tag(s): MSHSL Conferences  Big Nine  Albert Lea  Austin  Faribault  Mankato East  Mankato West  Northfield  Northfield JV   Owatonna  Red Wing  Rochester Century/JM  Rochester Mayo  Big South  Fairmont  Luverne  Marshall  New Ulm  Minnesota River  Waseca  Windom  Worthington  Central Lakes  Alexandria  Brainerd/Little Falls  Fergus Falls  River Lakes  Sartell/Sauk Rapids  St. Cloud  Willmar  Greater Minnesota  Bemidji  Crookston  East Grand Forks  Moorhead  Roseau  Team Events Calendar  Thief River Falls  Warroad  IMAC  Blake  Breck  Minnehaha United  Visitation  Independents  Dodge County  Eveleth-Gilbert  Grand Rapids/Greenway  Hibbing/Chisholm  International Falls  Moose Lake Area  North Shore  St. Paul Blades  Minneapolis  Lake  Eden Prairie  Edina  Hopkins/Park  Minnetonka  Wayzata  Lake Superior  Cloquet/Esko/Carlton  Duluth  Duluth Marshall  Proctor/Hermantown  Metro East  Hastings  Henry Sibley  Hill-Murray  Mahtomedi  North/Tartan  Simley  South St. Paul  Metro West  Benilde-St. Margaret's  Bloomington Jefferson  Chaska/Chanhassen  Holy Angels  Team Page  Mid-State  Detroit Lakes  Northern Lakes  Park Rapids  Prairie Centre  Mississippi 8  Buffalo  Cambridge-Isanti/Mora/PC  Chisago Lakes  North Wright County  Princeton/Big Lake/Becker  Rogers  Northern Tier  Northwest Suburban  Northwest Suburban - North  Andover  Anoka  Blaine  Centennial/Spring Lake Park  Elk River  Northwest Suburban - West  Irondale/St. Anthony  Maple Grove  Osseo/Park Center  Robbinsdale Armstrong/Cooper  Totino-Grace  South Suburban  Apple Valley  Metro-South  Eagan  Eastview  Farmington  Lakeville North  Lakeville South  Prior Lake  Rosemount  Shakopee  Morris/Benson Area  Suburban East  Cretin-Derham Hall  East Ridge  East Ridge JV  Forest Lake  Mounds View  Park of Cottage Grove  Roseville  Stillwater  White Bear Lake  Woodbury  Wright County  Delano/Rockford  Holy Family/Waconia  Hutchinson  Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato  Mound Westonka/SWC  White Hawks Team Page  Orono  New Prague  Champlin Park/Coon Rapids  Rochester John Marshall  Rochester Lourdes  Spring Lake Park