skip navigation

Eden Prairie's Tim Morris resigns

By David La Vaque, Star Tribune, 05/10/11, 2:22PM CDT


An e-mail to coaches addressed why he missed two games

Tim Morris

Eden Prairie girls’ hockey coach Tim Morris resigned last week, ending a successful run highlighted by four appearances in the Class 2A state tournament and two state championships (2006 and 2008).

This season Morris was not on the bench for the Eagles’ Section 2 semifinal and championship games. In an email to his coaching and hockey peers, Morris wrote, “a number of personal situations arose near the end of the season … that definitely affected my relationship with my players.”

Morris wrote he “will be helping with the transition for the new coach” and plans to remain the executive director of the Minnesota Girls Hockey Coaches Association.

“This was a very difficult decision for both me and my family,” Morris wrote in the email. “[Eden Prairie activities director] Mike [Grant] and I met four times going over the pros and cons of staying and leaving. Ultimately the decision rested with me and I felt it was time to explore new opportunities.”

Coaching Changes entering 2011-2012 season

SCHOOL 2010-2011 COACH 2011-2012 COACH
Academy of Holy Angles Jaime Grossman Jon Dundore
Alexandria Mitch Loch Andy Shriver
Bemidji Matt Menne Bob Brink
Brainerd/Little Falls Rod Peltoma Stephanie Sustercich
Breck Len Vannelli Chris Peterson
Chaska/Chanhassen Chris Erickson Tracy Cassano
Cretin-Derham Hall Steve Williams John Pohl
Detroit Lakes Dan Maloney Gretchen Norby
East Ridge Tony Hoops Craig Norwich
Eden Prairie Tim Morris Jaime Grossman
Faribault Gretchen Dahl Steve Gravgaard
Forest Lake Jeff Neidt Ryan Sauter
Lake of the Woods/Rainy River/Indus Katie Hasbargen April Beckel
Lakeville South Perry Wilkinson Natalie Darwitz
Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato Brian Johnson Hannah Impola
Minneapolis Novas John Wareham Pat Meacham
Mound-Westonka Bob Kuehl Chris Erickson
Mounds View Tom Foley Pete Aus
Orono Kevin Armstrong Keith Radloff
Park Rapids Chris Albee Gary Vaudrin
Pequot Lakes Regan Rudbeck Bryan Henricks
Prior Lake Jaime Grossman Todd Johnson
Robbinsdale Armstrong/Cooper Joel Zejdlik Kevin Gray
Rochester John Marshall Steve Russell Bob Montrose
Rosemount Tracy Cassano Josh Hoekstra and Trent Eigner
St. Cloud Joel Heitkamp and Mark Chamernick Mark Chamernick
St. Louis Park Mike Knoke Donnie Williams
St. Paul Blades Sarma Ozmen Jeff Hauer
St. Paul United Ted Cheesebrough Carrie Holldorf
Windom Shawn Veenker Dean Drahota

Related Stories