skip navigation

Semifinalists announced for 2019 Senior Goalie of the Year

By Ricky Campbell, SportsEngine, 01/31/19, 9:00PM CST


Find out who made the list.

Quinn Kuntz, Warroad's senior goalie, has posted a .962 save percentage, 0.61 goals-allowed and 13 shutouts through Jan. 31. Kuntz is one of 10 semifinalists named for senior goalie of the year. Photo by Jeff Lawler, SportsEngine

Ten of the state's top goaltenders were named Thursday as semifinalists for Let's Play Hockey's Senior Goalie of the Year award.

Finalists will be named on Feb. 7, and the winner will be announced during the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Feb. 24. 

The semifinalists, who combine for a 1.83 goals-against average, a .938 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.73, are: Abby Edstrom (Hibbing/Chisholm), Calla Frank (White Bear Lake), Megan Jung (Elk River/Zimmerman), Quinn Kuntz (Warroad), Maddison Lehto (Roseville), Mara McClain (Bloomington Jefferson), Lucy Morgan (Maple Grove), Makayla Pahl (Rochester Mayo), Baleigh Shuck (Champlin Park/Coon Rapids), and Taylor Smith (Mound Westonka). 

Kuntz, an Ohio State commit, has posted 13 shutouts in 23 wins for undefeated and Class 1A's top-ranked Warroad. She tops the state's list in every major category — wins (23), goals-against average (0.61) and save percentage (.962) — with only two games left on the schedule. 

Smith is currently No. 2 in Minnesota in GAA (1.11) and save percentage (.955). Smith has six shutouts through 18 wins for No. 3-1A Mound Westonka (18-0-3). 

The Northwest Suburban Conference boasts the most semifinalists with three players — Jung, Morgan and Shuck — represented. Frank and Lehto, who are expected to face each other on Feb. 2, bring the Suburban East Conference into the conversation. 

Four of the seniors will stay in Minnesota after graduation — Frank is headed to Minnesota State Mankato, McClain is going to Augsburg, Pahl is committed to Minnesota and Shuck will be playing at Bethel. 

In addition to on-ice performance, Let’s Play Hockey cites academics, coachability, citizenship, extracurricular and community activities for criteria that impacts who’s selected as Senior Goalie of the Year.

2019 Senior Goalie of the Year semifinalists

Name School Stats College committed
Abby Edstrom Hibbing/Chisholm (7-12-0); 2.08 GAA; .932 SV%; 4 SO
Calla Frank White Bear Lake (9-11-3); 2.31 GAA; .934 SV%; 0 SO Minnesota State Mankato
Megan Jung Elk River/Zimmerman (14-6-3); 2.29 GAA; .921 SV%; 2 SO UW-Eau Claire
Quinn Kuntz Warroad (23-0-0); 0.61 GAA; .962 SV%; 13 SO Ohio State
Maddison Lehto Roseville (5-14-1); 2.31 GAA; .926 SV%; 2 SO
Mara McClain Bloomington Jefferson (8-10-2); 2.03 GAA; .930 SV%; 4 SO Augsburg
Lucy Morgan Maple Grove (15-6-1); 1.41 GAA; .940 SV%; 6 SO
Makayla Pahl Rochester Mayo (4-8-3); 2.56 GAA; .940 SV%; 2 SO Minnesota
Baleigh Shuck Champlin Park/Coon Rapids (9-7-3); 1.48 GAA; .937 SV%; 6 SO Bethel
Taylor Smith Mound Westonka (18-0-4); 1.11 GAA; .955 SV%; 6 SO

Girls' Hockey Hub Headlines

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2