skip navigation

2017 Minnesota state girls' hockey all-tournament teams announced

By Trevor Squire, SportsEngine, 02/27/17, 3:30PM CST


Click to see who made the Class 2A and Class 1A squads.

Lolita Fidler was one of five Edina players to be named to the Class 2A Minnesota State Girls' Hockey All-Tournament team on Saturday. Photo by Mark Hvidsten, SportsEngine

Class 2A

Edina garnered five selections to the Minnesota State Girls' Hockey All-Tournament team, as the Hornets outscored the competition 12-1 en route to the program's first Class 2A state championship Saturday night at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. The team was announced following the title game.

Harvard prospect Lolita Fidler led the Class 2A field with four goals in the tournament (two in the state championship) and Middlebury College commit Anna Goldstein stopped 44 of 45 shots she faced in three games, a .978 save percentage that ranks best in both classes this year.

Here's the full list of all-tournament award winners:

Grace Bowlby, Edina, defense

Lolita Fidler, Edina, forward

Anna Goldstein, Edina, goaltender

Olivia Kilberg, Edina, forward

Sophie Slattery, Edina, forward

Emily Brown, Blaine, defense

Paige Beebe, Blaine, forward

Kenzie Wylie, Blaine, defense

Sammie Morton, Eden Prairie, defense

Naomi Rogge, Eden Prairie, forward

Abby Bollig, Farmington, goaltender

Ellie Moser, Farmington, forward

Anna Kruesel led a group of three Blake players to be named to the Class 1A all-tournament team. Photo by Cheryl Myers, SportsEngine

Class 1A

Blake won its fourth Class 1A championship in five years and had three players chosen on the all-tournament roster, the same number as runner-up and Independent Metro Athletic Conference rival St. Paul United.

The Bears' Anna Kruesel made her fourth state championship start in net last Saturday and stopped 13 of 15 shots to finish the tournament with a .943 save percentage in two games.

United's Joie Phelps, who's bound for Cornell, led the small-school tournament field with seven points. She was followed by Blake's Lily Delianedis, who tallied three points in the championship game to finish the three-game run with a total of six.

Here's the Class 1A all-tournament list:

Lily Delianedis, Blake, forward

Anna Kruesel, Blake, goaltender

Madeline Wethington, Blake, defense

Maggie Conners, St. Paul United, forward

Bergen Kobienia, St. Paul United, defense

Joie Phelps, St. Paul United, forward

Mariah Gardner, Warroad, forward

Madison Oelkers, Warroad, forward

Kate Boland, Northfield, defense

McKenzie Revering, Alexandria, defense

Abby Edstrom, Hibbing/Chisholm, goaltender

Mallorie Iozzo, Hibbing/Chisholm, forward


Both lists were selected by a panel of coaches attending the tournament, according to the MSHSL.

Spotlight Game Coverage

Most Popular

  • Five moments that made Edina a champion

  • By DAVID LA VAQUE, Star Tribune 02/26/2024, 8:15am CST
  • It was no simple season, far separate from those three-peat years of 2017-19, coach Sami Cowger said: "This team showed up and bought in at the right time."
  • Read More